Get a peak into the future of travel safety. Sign Up

Customer Portal


Schengen Border Agreement

Schengen Visa Compliance is a feature of travel medical insurance policies that ensures they will meet the requirements for traveling within the Schengen borders. Schengen compliant policies meet these basic requirements by offering Medical Emergency/Hospitalization Coverage; Medical Evacuation Coverage; and Repatriation of Remains. Additionally, the insurance underwriter must have an office located in a European country during the duration of your trip. Established in 1995, the Schengen Area consists of 26 European countries that have abolished immigration and passport controls at their shared borders; adopting a uniformed visa system. US tourists have been able to travel freely through the designated region with only one visa for up to 90 days within a six month period. Schengen Countries requiring visa holders to obtain travel medical coverage are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden Non-European Union members of the Schengen Borders Agreement: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. European Union members that DO NOT participate in the Schengen Border Agreement: Bulgaria, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom. To obtain a visa for travel in these countries, you will need to purchase a Schengen compliant policy, print your Schengen ID card which will be immediately available through your customer portal and attach it to your visa application prior to submission. For a list of Schengen compliant policies, click here or visit the G1G customer portal.


  • Get a Quote

    Instantly compare policies from the best providers around the world

  • Call us

    Call us anytime at +1 (408) 478-9990. Our licensed crew members are available 24/7